Projects

Komische Oper

Metamorphosis building -
How to retain diversity but create unity!

Typology Cultural venue Location Berlin Constructed volume New building GFA approx. 13,200 m², GIV approx. 62,600 m³ Existing building GFA 30,250 m², GIV 145,450 m³ Competition committee Federal State Berlin represented by the Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing Fund provider Senate Administration for Culture and Europe Occupant Foundation Opera in Berlin Completion exp. 2023-2029 Competition 1st Prize – 2020 with subsequent negotiated procedure

PDF-Download

#Refurbishment and extension of the venue Komische Oper in Berlin-Mitte

The new differentiated structure with its small-scale volumes and the variety of balconies, loggias and planted roof terraces leads to a heterogeneous appearance reflecting the diversity of the interior. The result is a distinctive design that displays the warm, open and inviting character of the Komische Oper on the outside.

Conversion and extension of the Komische Oper, Berlin (DE) The Komische Oper is a venue for musical theatre in Berlin Mitte, between Unter den Linden and Behrensstraße, in immediate vicinity of Pariser Platz and Brandenburger Tor. The slightly timeworn complex, incorporating a variety of listed structures completed at numerous periods between 1890 and 1980, is being remodelled and refurbished; different strata of time, narrating the history of the building, are being retained and some even revealed. The new build on Glinkastraße uses a range of small-format elements to complement the venue’s various functional areas and optimise the organisational processes. The facades are a conglomeration of different elements and materials – similar to a stage set – that have been developed from the style mix of the existing facades. Structured surfaces made of stone, steel, ceramic and metal in a variety of champagne and red hues depict the four different functional areas of the new build on the outside. Glass facades enclose the zones on the ground floor that are designed to appeal to the general public, such as the ticket office, the entrances, the café and casino. The stacked arrangement of the individual elements, with projecting and recessed sections, generates balconies, loggias and planted roof terraces.

The venue Komische Oper is an important part of Berlin’s cultural landscape located in the historical centre of Berlin Mitte between the streets Unter den Linden and Behrenstraße.

The Komische Oper is oganised in four functional strips from north to south, which are incorporated in the extension and depicted on the exterior by the structured base. The functional links between the new and old building allow for short distances and easy access.

“The design is like a chameleon, a cultural metamorphosis, a building of diversity and innovation. It enters into a dialogue with the history of the Komische Oper Berlin and enables the three centuries to flow freely like counterpoints…”

Barrie Kosky, Chief Director

The café on the top floor includes a public roof terrace with a fantastic view of the boulevard Unter den Linden.

western elevation

The plasticity of the facades made of stone, steel, ceramics and expanded metal mesh in a variety of champagne and red hues underlines the sculptural appearance of the new building.

“Our aim was to structure the large volume into smaller elements to give the building a more human scale. Thus, the new building consists of small-scale boxes with different facade designs. The selection of materials was extracted from special features identified in the existing structure, such as the sandstone facade with copper-framed window elements, and applied to the shapes and colours of the new building.”

Kilian Kada

October 30th, 2020
Facing the future

The Tagesspiegel reports on our competition win at the Komische Oper Berlin … read the article

Projekte

Komische Oper

Haus der Metamorphosen -
Wie kann man Einheit schaffen und Vielfalt erhalten!

Typologie Kultur Bauvolumen Neubau BGF 13.226m², BRI 62.600m³ Altbau BGF 30.250m², BRI 145.450m³ Auslober Land Berlin vertreten durch die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen Bedarfsträger Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Nutzer Stiftung Oper in Berlin Realisierung vor. 2023-2029 Wettbewerb 1. Preis – 2020 mit anschließendem Verhandlungsverfahren

PDF-Download

#Sanierung und Erweiterung der Komischen Oper in Berlin-Mitte

Der differenziert gegliederte Neubau schafft mit seinen kleinteiligen Volumen und den vielfach nutzbaren Balkonen, Loggien und begrünten Dachterrassen ein heterogenes Bild, das die Vielfalt im Inneren spiegelt. So wird der warme, offene und einladende Geist des Hauses nach außen getragen.

Die Komische Oper liegt in Berlin Mitte, zwischen Unter den Linden und Behrensstraße in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Pariser Platz und Brandenburger Tor. Der in die Jahre gekommene Bestand, der aus verschiedenen denkmalgeschützten Baukörpern unterschiedlicher Epochen von 1890-1980 besteht, wird behutsam ertüchtigt und saniert; verschiedene Zeitschichten, die von der reichen Geschichte des Hauses erzählen, bleiben erhalten und werden teilweise wieder freigelegt. Der Neubau an der Glinkastraße ergänzt mit verschiedenen kleinteiligen Volumen die Funktionsbereiche der Oper und optimiert deren organisatorische Abläufe. Die Fassaden setzten sich – einem inszenierten Bühnenbild gleich – aus verschiedenen Elementen und Materialien zusammen, die aus dem Gestaltungskanon der Bestandsfassaden entwickelt wurden. Strukturierte Oberflächen aus Stein, Stahl, Keramik und Metall in unterschiedlichen Champagner- bis Rottönen bilden die vier verschiedenen Funktionsbereiche des Neubaus nach außen ab. Die publikumswirksamen Bereiche im Erdgeschoss, wie Kasse, Eingänge, Café und Casino besitzen transparente Glasfassaden. Durch die Vor- und Rücksprünge der einzelnen Volumen entstehen Balkone, Loggien und begrünte Dachterrassen.

Die Komische Oper ist ein wichtiger Teil der Berliner Opern- und Kulturlandschaft und liegt im historischen Stadtzentrum von Berlin Mitte zwischen der Straße Unter den Linden und der Behrenstraße.

Die Komische Oper ist von Norden nach Süden in vier Funktions- „Streifen“ organisiert, die der Erweiterungsbau aufnimmt und durch die Gliederung des Sockels nach außen sichtbar macht. Die funktionalen Zusammenhänge zwischen Neubau und Bestand schaffen kurze Wege und erleichtern die Orientierung.

“Der Entwurf präsentiert sich als vielfältiges Chamäleon, als ein Haus der Metamorphosen, der Diversität und der Innovation. Er tritt in Dialog mit der Geschichte der Komischen Oper Berlin und lässt drei Jahrhunderte wie ein Kontrapunkt in- und auseinanderfließen…”

Barrie Kosky, Intendant und Chefregisseur

Das Café in der obersten Etage bietet eine öffentlich zugängliche Dachterrasse mit einem fantastischen Ausblick über Unter den Linden.

Ansicht West

Die Plastizität der Fassaden aus Stein, Stahl, Keramik und Streckmetall in unterschiedlichen Champagner- bis Rot- Tönen verstärkt die skulpturale Gliederung des Neubaus.

“Uns war es wichtig, dass dieses große Volumen möglichst kleinteilig gegliedert wird, damit das Gebäude einen menschlichen Maßstab bekommt. Der Neubau besteht aus einzelnen Boxen, die mit unterschiedlichen Fassaden bespielt werden. Dabei haben wir aus den besonderen Merkmalen des Bestands — wie z.B. die Sandsteinfassade mit der kupfergefassten Fensterfront — die Formen und die Farben des Neubaus abgeleitet.”

Kilian Kada

30. Oktober 2020
Der Zukunft zugewandt

Der Tagesspiegel berichtet über unseren Wettbewerbsgewinn der Komischen Oper Berlin … zum Artikel