Profile

We Create Places
to Live, Work and Enjoy

What We Do…

kadawittfeldarchitektur  is involved in architecture, interior design, town planning and urban projects. As architects, project managers, consultants and cooperation partners, we focus on all the associated design, communication and organisational tasks … more

kwbau focuses on the development of new builds and conversions with a focus on tendering, contracting, site inspection and supervision as well as quality, time and cost management in the service phases 6 to 8 … more

In addition to quality assurance and project management, kadawittfeldconsult provides advice on sustainable design and certifications.

Find our list of work here … more

 

 

Dialogical Work –
Stay in Conversation

„Creating good architecture is a work process. It is not something that just falls into our lap. And, most importantly: the building is not for our use. It has to be developed in cooperation with the future occupants.“
Dirk Lange

We strive to find the most bespoke solution for every project together with all project participants – our client, the occupants, various experts and the public sector.

„Architecture always has an impact on the surroundings. We therefore have to account for what we do.“
Kilian Kada

Photo Carl Brunn

One advantage of dialogical work processes is that the design is not only influenced by the tangible context, such as the urban environment or the ground conditions. The intangible values deriving from social, economic, time-related and cultural issues also have an impact and are incorporated in the project by the different stakeholders and participants.

„I used to see the discussions in the design phase as diversions – I now understand them as an important catalyst for finding the best solution.“
Gerhard Wittfeld

Made to Measure –
I’m a Model and I Look Good

 

We examine the potentials of a project through careful analysis and a multitude of sketches, mood boards, models and design variations. Serial studies of volume and space enable us to compare variants directly and make our decisions clearly visible for the client and other planning participants.

Stack model studies
Photo Jens Kirchner

Imagine space: experience brainwaves, test, examine and correct designs using a cutter, 3D printer and laser engraver.

Variants

We live in a digital era. Plans are created at computers; renderings are impressive and sometimes difficult to distinguish from a real photo. But more than anything else, the computer is a networking tool. The visual depiction is only one part of the complex linkage between all aspects and requirements of a planning process. With the help of BIM – Building Information Modeling – all the relevant data of a building, its design and future use is brought together continuously, further developed and interconnected consistently in terms of creative, technical and economic aspects: the building is completed, before it is actually constructed, in a coherent and reliable manner for the benefit of all project participants.

drawing Pawel Pietkun

Why do we still draw by hand?

Simply because of its rough and rugged texture, the hand sketch is still in use in our practice. And this certainly doesn’t only mean the famous first “cocktail napkin sketch”. Throughout the entire design process, the sketch adheres to the basic idea, outlines the key thought as a whole or in detail. More elaborate draughts can be added, which investigate the character of the potential design. A sketch provides a direct sensual approach to a project in the same way as a model. Hand-drawn sketches and visualisations allow the architect to think about the atmosphere of a space and the character of materials. They are a basis for reassurance as well as communication.

Added Value Space –
We Build Architecture for People
and Create Places to Enjoy

„Good architecture should provide opportunities, which possibly weren’t there before.“
Gerhard Wittfeld

We examine construction projects and traditional typologies with the aim of finding hidden potentials. By developing inferior places in a communicative and functional way, even neglected areas can be turned into beauty spots.

Sustainability –
What We Do to Make the World a Better Place

Planning sustainable buildings is a complex and sometimes even nerve-wracking ordeal. But we’re not giving up. Because if you consider that the building industry is responsible for the consumption of approx. 50% of all resources and approx. 50% of all energy and, in doing so, produces approx. 60% of all waste, then we are grateful that we can make a difference where it really matters!

We have been a member of the DGNB since 2009 and established our own department to advise our colleagues and clients and accompany certification processes or C2C projects in 2013. This has enabled us to integrate sustainability aspects into planning processes at an early stage and reduce the complexity.

 

Photo Jens Kirchner

The new administrative headquarters of RAG Stiftung and RAG AG, located at the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein in Essen, has implemented innovative sustainability stanadards inspired by the cradle-to-cradle principles (C2C); moreover, it has received a DGNB certificate with the highest Platinum rating … more

Profil

Wir gestalten
Lebens-, Arbeits- und Stadtraum

Was wir tun…

kadawittfeldarchitektur beschäftigt sich mit Architektur, Interior Design, städtebaulichen Planungen und urbanen Projekten. Als Architekten, Generalplaner, Bauingenieure, Berater oder Kooperationspartner widmen wir uns sämtlichen damit verbundenen Gestaltungs-, Kommunikations- und Organisationsaufgaben … mehr

kwbau fokussiert auf die Abwicklung von Neu- und Umbaumaßnahmen mit Schwerpunkten auf Ausschreibung, Vergabe, Objektüberwachung und -betreuung sowie auf Qualitäts-, Termin- und Kostenkontrolle in den Leistungsphasen 6-8 … mehr

kadawittfeldconsult leistet neben Qualitätssicherung und Projektmanagement Beratungen zum Nachhaltigen Bauen und Zertifizierungen.

Zu unserem Werksverzeichnis geht es hier … mehr

 

 

Dialogisch Arbeiten –
Offenheit im Prozess mit den Projektbeteiligten

„Gute Architektur zu erzeugen, ist ein Arbeitsprozess. Sie fällt nicht einfach vom Himmel. Und, ganz wichtig: Das Haus ist ja nicht für uns. Es muss ein Zusammenspiel mit demjenigen sein, der das Haus nutzt.“
Dirk Lange

Gemeinsam mit allen Projektbeteiligten – unseren Bauherrn, den Nutzern, Experten und der Öffentlichkeit – suchen wir die maßgeschneiderte Lösung für jedes Projekt.

„Architektur ist immer ein Eingriff. Das bedeutet, dass man sich erklären muss.“
Kilian Kada

Foto Carl Brunn

Ein Vorteil der dialogischen Arbeitsweise ist, dass nicht nur der materielle Kontext wie die städtebauliche Umgebung oder die Bodenbeschaffenheit den Entwurf prägt. Auch der immaterielle Kontext aus sozialen-, wirtschaftlichen, zeitgeistigen und kulturellen Einflüssen spielt eine Rolle und wird über die unterschiedlichen Protagonisten und Mitwirkenden in das Projekt getragen.

„Früher habe ich die Diskussion im Entwurfsprozess als Umweg gesehen – heute verstehe ich sie als wichtigen Katalysator, um zur besten Lösung zu gelangen.“
Gerhard Wittfeld

Made to measure –
Ich bin ein Modell und ich seh gut aus

 

Die Potenziale eines Projektes erarbeiten wir uns durch sorgfältige Analyse und eine Vielzahl von Skizzen, Moodboards, Modellen und Varianten. Serien von Körper- und Raumstudien erlauben uns dabei den unmittelbaren Vergleich und machen unsere Entscheidungen auch für den Bauherren und andere Planungsbeteiligte nachvollziehbar und transparent.

Stapel Modellstudien
Foto Jens Kirchner

Imagine Space: Mit Cutter, 3D-Drucker und Laser Gedankenblitze sprühen lassen, testen, prüfen und korrigieren.

Varianten

Wir leben in einer Zeit des Digitalen. Pläne entstehen am Computer, Renderings sind eindruckvsoll und manchmal kaum noch von einem Foto zu unterscheiden. Vor allem aber ist der Computer ein Werkzeug der Vernetzung. Die visuelle Darstellung ist nur ein Teil der komplexen Verbindung aller Aspekte und Bedingungen einer Planung. Mit BIM – Building Information Modeling – werden alle relevanten Daten eines Bauwerks, seiner Planung und künftigen Nutzung, kontinuierlich zusammengeführt, weiter entwickelt und konstant gestalterisch, technisch und wirtschaftlich gekoppelt: Das Gebäude entsteht, bevor es entsteht, als Zusammenhang und Verlässlichkeit für alle Beteiligten.

Zeichnung Pawel Pietkun

Warum zeichnen wir noch von Hand?
Gerade wegen ihrer „Rauheit“ hat die Handzeichnung für uns weiterhin ihre Daseinsberechtigung. Damit ist keinesfalls nur die berühmte erste „Skizze auf der Serviette“ gemeint. Immer wieder im Entwurfsprozess hält die Skizze eine Grundidee fest, umreißt sie den Kern eines Gedankens im Ganzen oder im Detail. Hinzutreten Ausarbeitungen, die den Charakter des Angestrebten erkunden. Genau wie das Modell erlaubt die Handzeichnung eine unmittelbar sinnliche Annäherung an ein Projekt. Skizzen und Visualisierungen von Hand bringen den Architekten dazu, über Atmosphären und Materialcharakter nachzudenken und dienen sowohl der eigenen Vergewisserung als auch der Kommunikation.

Added Value Space –
Wir bauen Architektur für Menschen
und schaffen Orte der Begegnung

„Gute Architektur sollte Möglichkeiten eröffnen, die vorher vielleicht gar nicht angedacht waren.“
Gerhard Wittfeld

Wir untersuchen Bauaufgaben und überlieferte Typologien auf „versteckte“ Potentiale. Indem wir auch scheinbar nachrangige Flächen kommunikativ und funktional zusätzlich nutzbar machen, wird aus mancher Problemzone die Schokoladenseite des Hauses.

Nachhaltigkeit
Was wir tun, um die Welt besser zu machen

Nachhaltige Gebäude zu planen ist komplex. Viele Projektbeteiligte müssen involviert, teilweise überzeugt, viele Aspekte bedacht und abgewogen werden. Aber wir bleiben dran. Denn wenn man bedenkt, dass das Bauwesen für den Verbrauch von ca. 50% aller Rohstoffe und ca. 50% aller Energie verantwortlich ist und dabei ca. 60% allen Abfalls produziert, sind wir froh, als Architekten an einer wichtigen Schnittstelle Einfluss nehmen zu können!

Skizze Kilian Kada

Wir sind seit 2009 Mitglied der DGNB und unterstützen die Initiative ‚Phase Nachhaltigkeit‘ und ‚Architects declare‘. Seit 2013 haben wir eine eigene Abteilung etabliert, die unsere Kollegen und Bauherren projektübergreifend berät und Zertifizierungen oder C2C-Projekte begleitet. Projekte wie das Kreislaufhaus auf Zollverein, Moringa, die Kita Troplo-Kids, das LVR-Haus am Ottoplatz und viele mehr zeigen, dass es sich lohnt Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte schon früh in den Planungsprozess zu integrieren.

 

Foto Nicolai Benner

Der Neubau für die RAG-Stiftung und RAG Aktiengesellschaft auf dem UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein in Essen orientiert sich an innovativen Nachhaltigkeitsstandards nach der „Cradle to Cradle“-Denkschule und erhielt außerdem die höchste DGNB-Zertifizierung in Platin… mehr