Projects

Bitzer Headquarters

Go Sky-High -
How will we work?

Typology office Constructed Volume GFA total 34,500 m², GFA above-ground 20,000 m² 500 work places; approx. 340 underground parking spaces Client Bitzer Grundstücksverwaltungs GmbH Construction 2016-2019 Competition 1st prize 2014

PDF-Download

#New office building at company headquarters

The office tower is embedded into the existing structural landscape and stands out as a representative landmark clearly visible from the motorway not far away.

Photo Andreas Horsky

The world renowned specialist for refrigerant compressors Bitzer SE is developing a new office building in Sindelfingen close to Stuttgart. Both the position of the office tower immediately next to the existing buildings and the height totalling almost 70 metres are a clear sign that the company has accepted the site as its headquarters. The 17-storey building, which can be let in different sized units, with an adjoining annex and two underground car parking levels for approximately 340 cars accommodates 500 workplaces. The two-storey annex building, an arrangement of superior functions around a central courtyard, including a canteen, kitchen, exhibition and meeting rooms as well as a conference area, is positioned immediately next to the slender tower. The foyer, the hub of the new building, is located at the junction between the tower and annex. The design of the office tower is based on the idea of a vertical campus. The central element is a transparent, full-height zone, which rises from the forecourt and is characterised by a network of single and multi-storey communication zones. The vertical campus is not only a distinct feature in the facade, it also offers employees a differentiated arrangement of space for varied styles of communication in the interior.

Design model

Clearly visible from the motorway, the new building appears as a prominent landmark at the junction Eschenbrünnlestraße and Tilsiter Straße. With a large forecourt, a generous entrance area and the vertical communication zone, the tower opens up to the BITZER quarter and thus establishes a link to the company’s existing buildings.

February 1st, 2019
Bitzer from the highway

Bitzer from the highway

posted by
Kilian Kada
Photo Andreas Horsky
Development of the building structure
Photo Jens Kirchner

The vertical BITZER Campus is designed to combine the advantages of the traditional location in Sindelfingen with a new world of work in a vertical structure. This is achieved through a network of open spaces and recreational areas, which connect the different components of the corporation not only in terms of urban but also building-related aspects.

artwork "Großer Köcher" Christoph Freimann | Photo Jens Kirchner

The central forecourt functions as the starting point of this network and is therefore the new BITZER entrance. The foyer is located at the intersection of the office tower and the annex. A horizontal joint in the facade marks the link between the two functional areas.

artwork "Gold-Stele" Heinz Mack | Photo Jens Kirchner

The two-storey annex is arranged around a central courtyard and designed to match the heights of the surrounding buildings. It is aligned with the structures along Tilsiter Straße, interacts with the built environment and helps to reorganise the urban situation along Tilsiter Straße.

‚VERTIKALER CAMPUS‘ – a network of open spaces and recreational areas.
The central zone, marked in yellow, contains small kitchens, copy points, shared meeting rooms and lounge areas.

Photo Jens Kirchner
May 22nd, 2017
Sleek spiral staircase for the "plus zones" in the Bitzer joint
posted by
Michael Tremmel

Projekte

Bitzer Headquarters

Go Sky-High -
Wie wollen wir arbeiten?

Typologie Bürogebäude Bauvolumen BGF gesamt 34.500 m², BGF oberirdisch 20.000 m², 500 Arbeitsplätze, ca. 340 Tiefgaragen-Stellplätze Bauherr Bitzer Grundstücksverwaltungs GmbH Realisierung 2016-2019 Wettbewerb 2014 – 1.Preis

PDF-Download

#Neubau eines Bürogebäudes am bestehenden Firmenstandort

Der Büroturm fügt sich in die existierende Bebauung ein und wird zudem als repräsentative ‚Landmarke’ weithin und von der nahe gelegenen Autobahn aus gut sichtbar sein.

Foto Andreas Horsky

Der weltweit tätige Spezialist für Kältemittelverdichter Bitzer SE baut in Sindelfingen bei Stuttgart sein neues Headquarter. Als klares Bekenntnis zum Firmenstandort wird der Büroturm direkt neben den Bestandsgebäuden errichtet und dank seiner beachtlichen Höhe von ca. 70 Meter zur Landmarke. In dem 17-geschossigen Haus nebst angrenzendem Sockelgebäude und zwei Tiefgaragenebenen entstehen 500 Arbeitsplätze, die in Teilen vermietet werden sollen. An den schlanken Turm gliedert sich ein zweigeschossiges Sockelgebäude an, das – um einen Innenhof organisiert – übergeordnete Funktionen wie Restaurant, Küche, Ausstellung und Besprechungs- sowie Konferenzbereiche beherbergt. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Büroturm und Sockelgebäude befindet sich das zentrale Foyer, welches der Dreh- und Angelpunkt des neuen Gebäudes ist. Der Entwurf für den Büroturm folgt der Idee eines vertikalen Campus. Dessen zentrales Element ist eine transparente, gebäudehohe Zone, die sich vom Vorplatz aus in die Höhe entwickelt und von miteinander vernetzten, teils mehrgeschossigen Kommunikationsbereichen geprägt wird. Der vertikale Campus tritt nicht nur als markantes Alleinstellungsmerkmal in der Fassade in Erscheinung, sondern bietet zudem im Inneren ein differenziertes Raumgefüge mit vielfältigen Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten für die Mitarbeiter.

Entwurfsmodell

Im Sichtfeld der Autobahn besetzt der Neubau als prominente Landmarke den Knotenpunkt Eschenbrünnlestraße und Tilsiter Straße. Mit einem großen Vorplatz, seinem großzügigen Eingangsbereich und der vertikalen Kommunikations-Zone öffnet sich die Kubatur des Turms zum BITZER-Quartier und stellt so den Bezug zu den bestehenden Gebäuden des Unternehmens her.

1. Februar 2019
Bitzer vom Auto aus
posted by
Kilian Kada
Foto Andreas Horsky
Entwicklungsstudie aus dem Wettbewerb
Foto Jens Kirchner

Der vertikale BITZER-Campus setzt sich zum Ziel die Vorteile des Traditionsstandortes Sindelfingen mit einer neuen Arbeitswelt in einem vertikalen Baukörper zu kombinieren. Dies geschieht durch ein Netzwerk aus Plätzen und Aufenthaltsorten, welche sowohl auf städtebaulicher als auch auf Gebäudeebene die unterschiedlichen Bestandteile des Unternehmens miteinander verbinden.

Kunst "Großer Köcher" Christoph Freimann | Foto Jens Kirchner

Der zentrale Vorplatz bildet den Ausgangspunkt dieses Netzwerkes und damit die neue Adresse von BITZER. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Büroturm und Sockelgebäude befindet sich das Foyer. Das Ineinandergreifen der beiden Funktionsbereiche wird in der Fassade durch eine horizontale Fuge akzentuiert.

Kunst "Gold-Stele" Heinz Mack | Foto Jens Kirchner

Das zweigeschossigen Sockelgebäude ist um einen Innenhof organisiert und orientiert sich an den Höhen der umgebenden Bebauung. Es nimmt die Flucht der Gebäude entlang der Tilsiter Straße auf, schafft einen Bezug zur Umgebung und hilft die städtebauliche Situation entlang der Tilsiter Straße zu ordnen.

‚VERTIKALER CAMPUS‘ als Netzwerk aus Plätzen und Aufenthaltsorten.
Im gelb markierten Mittelbereich sind neben Teeküchen und Copy-Points auch die gemeinsam genutzten Meeting-Areas und Pausenzonen angeordnet.

Foto Jens Kirchner
22. Mai 2017
Sleeke Wendeltreppe für die “Pluszonen” in der Bitzer- Fuge
posted by
Michael Tremmel