Projects Archaeological Pavilion Elisengarten
Projects

Archaeological Pavilion Elisengarten

Let's Do the Time Warp Again -
How to build on archaeological finds?

Typology exhibition pavilion Construction Volume GFA 160m² Client City of Aachen with the support of DSA – Daten- und Systemtechnik GmbH Construction 2012-2013 Competition 1st prize 2009 Awards Auszeichnung guter Bauten BDA Aachen 2014, German Design Award, Architekturpreis NRW 2015, Preis des deutschen Stahlbaus 2014, Nike ‚Symbolik‘ 2016 – shortlist

PDF-Download

Photo Jens Kirchner

#The housing in of the settlement structures (dating back some 5000 years) discovered in the Elisengarten designed to function as one of the five “archaeological windows” of the city of Aachen.

With conscious dissociation from the typical glass vitrines found within the urban context, a stainless steel construction encases the necessary glass enclosure. A public inter-zone is thus created, opening up to the surrounding gardens where one is invited to linger and contemplate the city’s history.

 

Excavations in Aachen's Elisengarten

During extensive archeological excavations amazing discoveries were made: spanning from the Neolithic period (4700 BC) to the high and late Middle Ages (ca. 910-1500) there is evidence of all essential periods of the history of settlement in Aachen from the birth of Christ to the present.

Photo Jens Kirchner

The uniqueness of the archaeological site in the Elisengarten park lies in its layering of different settlement structures from various eras of Aachen city history. This extraordinary historical strata is mirrored in the concept of the pavilion’s shell: the outside shell consists of two layers of diagonally overlapping stainless steel profiles. The space between this open shell and the actual glass housing of the archaeological site invites the visitor to wander off the park paths and discover the archaeological finds. The transparent and reduced construction correlates not only to the building requirements of the excavation site but also to the climatic challenges of the site.
It enables also an attentive integration of the building into one of the most popular parks in Aachen. The pavilion blends in with the row of archaeological windows and provides a further highlight to the “Charlemagne Route” in conveying visibility to the historic routes of the city of Aachen by means of a very specific constructional intervention.

An exciting in-between zone is thus created, opening up to the surrounding park inviting one to rest or engage with the urban history – a contemplative refuge in the midst of urban bustle.
The outside shell consists of two delicate layers of diagonally overlapping steel profiles.

Photo Jens Kirchner

The inner vitrine provides the second shell in the form of a glass enclosure. It enables various perspectives of the excavation site, regulates the natural air flow, and protects the spectacular finds. At the same time it serves as a resource of information: a revolving timeline, a site map as well as a compact and clearly arranged illustration of the found structures and artefacts (printed on a light translucent film), informing the visitor without obscuring the vision of the site.

One of the structural challenges was to place the loads without interfering with the excavation site. The construction is mounted on 32 foundation piles (GEWI micropile). A floor grid of wide flange beams (HEB H-section) lies on the foundation piles. On top rests a trapezoidal profiled-metal formwork filled with concrete and covered with mastic asphalt. The outer shell of the pavilion is not only the essential form-giving element of the design but also serves as the primary structure for the column-free pavilion. It is manufactured from laser-cut solid stainless steel profiles. With a cross section of 50 x 15mm these are diagonally overlapped and welded together at the intersections.

Archeological site Elisengarten
Photo DSA GmbH

The archaeological pavilion clearly shows how important a small intervention can be to the inhabitants’ identification with their city. The exceptional interest of the public in the history of their own city has been demonstrated by large numbers of who watched over the excavation tent with great curiosity, the many intrigued passers-by during the construction, and the surge of visitors since the construction was finished. The civic engagement of a company from Aachen who generously supported the construction of the archaeological vitrine (enabling it, indeed, to be built at all) demonstrates a laudable form of cultural sponsoring. The project was mostly financed by the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia with the firm DSA financing the city of Aachen’s share in the project.

April 18th, 2013
Opening of the archaeological showcase!
posted by
Anne-Kathrin Höhler

Projekte Archäologische Vitrine Elisengarten
Projekte

Archäologische Vitrine Elisengarten

Let's Do the Time Warp Again -
Wie baut man auf archäologischen Funden?

Typologie Ausstellung Bauvolumen BGF 160 m² Bauherr Stadt Aachen unterstützt von DSA – Daten- und Systemtechnik GmbH Realisierung 2012-2013 Wettbewerb 2009 – 1. Preis Auszeichnungen Auszeichnung guter Bauten BDA Aachen 2014, German Design Award, Architekturpreis NRW 2015, Preis des deutschen Stahlbaus 2014, Nike ‚Symbolik‘ 2016 – Shortlist

PDF-Download

Foto Jens Kirchner

#Einhausung für die im Elisengarten entdeckten Funde aus rund 5000 Jahren Siedlungsgeschichte als eines von fünf ‚Archäologischen Fenstern‘ in der Stadt Aachen.

In bewusster Abgrenzung von den im städtischen Kontext üblichen gläsernen Vitrinen umhüllt eine offene Edelstahlkonstruktion den notwendigen klimatischen Raumabschluss. Es entsteht eine spannungsreiche Zwischenzone, die offen zur umgebenden Gartenanlage zum Verweilen und zur Auseinandersetzung mit der Stadtgeschichte einlädt.

 

Ausgrabungen im Elisengarten Aachen

Bei umfangreichen archäologischen Grabungen wurde hier Erstaunliches entdeckt: Funde aus der Jungsteinzeit (4700 v.Chr.) bis zum Hoch- und Spätmittelalter (ca. 910-1500) sind Zeugnis für alle wesentlichen Perioden der Aachener Siedlungsgeschichte seit der Zeit um Christi Geburt bis heute.

Foto Jens Kirchner

Die Besonderheit der Fundstelle im Elisengarten liegt in der Schichtung von verschiedenen Siedlungsstrukturen aus mehreren Epochen der Aachener Stadtgeschichte. Diese außergewöhnliche Überlagerung wird in der Gestaltung der Pavillonhülle aufgegriffen:
Die äußere Hülle besteht aus zwei Schichten sich diagonal überlagernder Edelstahlprofile. Der Zwischenraum zwischen dieser offenen Hülle und der eigentlichen gläsernen Einhausung der Fundstelle lädt den Besucher ein, vom Weg durch den Park abzuschweifen und so die archäologischen Funde zu erkunden. Die transparente und reduzierte Konstruktion entspricht dabei nicht nur den Erfordernissen des Bauens auf dem Grabungsfeld und den klimatischen Anforderungen der Fundstelle. Sie ermöglicht auch die behutsame Integration des Baukörpers in eine der beliebtesten Parkanlagen Aachens.
Der Pavillon macht die historischen Wurzeln Aachens als gezielte bauliche Intervention im städtischen Raum sichtbar. Er fügt sich als ergänzender Baustein in die Reihe der Archäologischen Fenster und bildet eine weitere Station der ‚Route Charlemagne‘, die auf den Spuren Karls des Großen zu den historisch bedeutenden Orten der Stadt führt.

Es entsteht eine spannungsreiche Zwischenzone, die offen zur umgebenden Gartenanlage zum Verweilen und zur Auseinandersetzung mit der Stadtgeschichte einlädt – ein kontemplativer Ort inmitten der städtischen Betriebsamkeit.

Die äußere Hülle besteht aus zwei hintereinander liegenden Schichten filigraner Flachstahllamellen, die sich diagonal überlagern. Die eigentliche Vitrine bildet als gläserne Einhausung die zweite Schicht.

26. Juli 2019

LET'S DO THE TIME WARP AGAIN!

Today we are having another look at a #kwaBestAger, the ARCHAEOLOGICAL PAVILION in the Elisengarten in Aachen.

This light and translucent structure was built in 2012 and has since attracted many visitors and locals for a stop to take a look at the ancient objects or to just hang around and enjoy a relaxing time from the hustle und bustle of the city centre... this summer again like all the years before!
???? @aryanmirfendereski
#kadawittfeldarchitektur #realitycheck #kwarealitycheck #kwabestager #bestagers #architecturaldesign #archilovers #aachen #elisengarten #archaeology #pavilion #archaeologicalsite #architecture # #routecharlemagne #visitaachen #archäologischevitrine

Foto Jens Kirchner

Die Vitrine ermöglicht unterschiedliche Blickwinkel auf die Ausgrabungsstelle, reguliert die natürliche Belüftung und schützt die Ausgrabungen. Gleichzeitig dient sie als Informationsträger: eine umlaufende Zeitleiste, ein Lageplan sowie kompakte, übersichtliche Illustrationen zu den gefundenen Strukturen und Artefakten (aufgedruckt auf eine leicht durchscheinende Folie) informieren den Besucher, ohne den Blick auf die Fundstelle unnötig zu verstellen.

Eine große konstruktive Herausforderung lag darin, die Lasten ohne Beeinträchtigung der Ausgrabungsstelle abzutragen. Die Stahlkonstruktion wird über 32 Bohrpfähle (GEWI-Mikropfahl) gegründet. Ein Bodenrost aus HEB-Trägern liegt auf diesen Bohrpfählen auf. Die auf dem Rost aufliegende Trapezblechschale wurde ausbetoniert und anschließend mit Gussasphalt versehen. Die Außenhülle des Pavillons ist nicht nur das wesentliche, gestaltprägende Element des Entwurfes, sie ist auch die statisch wirksame Struktur für den stützenfreien Pavillon. Sie ist aus lasergeschnittenen Flachstahllamellen aus Duplex-Stahl gefertigt. Mit einem Querschnitt von 50x15mm sind diese diagonal miteinander verschränkt und in den Knotenpunkten miteinander verschweißt.

Die Ausgrabungen im Elisengarten
Foto DSA GmbH

Die Archäologische Vitrine zeigt sehr deutlich, welche große Bedeutung ein kleiner Eingriff für die Identifikation der Bürger mit ihrer Stadt entwickeln kann. Die Besucherströme im Grabungszelt, zahlreiche Schaulustige während der Bauarbeiten und die großen Besucherzahlen seit der Fertigstellung dokumentieren das große Interesse der Bevölkerung an der Geschichte ihrer Stadt. Eine besondere Form des Kultursponsorings zeigt das bürgerschaftliche Engagement eines Aachener Unternehmers, das den Bau der Archäologischen Vitrine finanziell großzügig unterstützt und dadurch überhaupt ermöglicht hat. Als die Stadt Aachen ihren Anteil an dem größtenteils vom Land finanzierten Projekt nicht aufbringen konnte, hat die Firma DSA (ein Hersteller von Datenlesegeräten für die Automobilindustrie), mit ihrer Spende den städtischen Anteil an der Finanzierung übernommen und zusätzlich die Medienplanung finanziert.

18. April 2013
Die Archäologische Vitrine ist eröffnet!
posted by
Anne-Kathrin Höhler