Projects

Grimmwelt Kassel

Once Upon a Time -
How do you build if you want to leave the park untouched?

Typology museum Construction Volume GFA 6,000m² incl. roof area, GV 24,400m³ Client documenta Stadt Kassel Cooperation kadawittfeldarchitektur (architecture) Holzer Kobler Architekturen (exhibition design) und Hürlimann Lepp (curatorial concept) Competition 2nd prize 2011; VOF procedure 2012, 1st prize  Competition 2nd prize 2011; VOF procedure 2012, 1st prize Awards Bau des Jahres 2015 – german architects, Polis Award 2016,  Nike BDA 2016 – shortlist , Deutscher Städtebaupreis 2016, DAM Preis 2017 – finalist, BDA Hessen Simon-Louis-du-Ry-Plakette 2018

PDF-Download

#Museum for the presentation of the Brothers Grimm’s works

The design translates the historical and topographical features of the surrounding park into a continuous open space and invites visitors to explore the exhibitions at their own pace.

Photo Andreas Horsky

The Brothers Grimm Museum, GRIMMWELT Kassel, is located in a picturesque park on the slope of an area called Weinberg close to Kassel city centre where it blends into the gently undulating landscape. Old stone steps, wall fragments, pergolas, planted terraces and lush vegetation contribute towards the special atmosphere of the park. The new museum continues the topography of the surroundings in an accessible roof landscape and thus provides the park with an open stairway that leads up to a terrace with a view across Kassel.
This design leads to a split-level arrangement in the interior. The tiered space is arranged around a central introductory hall presenting the various key subjects of the exhibition in a fascinating dialogue. Visitors experience a place with diverse atmosphere and one that focusses on German linguistics as well as the collection of the Grimms’ Fairy Tales. The foyer with a reception desk, a shop and waiting area is a long space stretching the full depth of the building. It ends in a light café with a panorama of Kassel’s Karlsaue and the southern part of the city.

Photo Andreas Horsky
July 24th, 2017
Namasté on the roof of Grimmwelt

Talking about ‘an awesome public space’  😉
https://www.lokalo24.de/lokales/kassel/dynamik-museumsdach.html

posted by
Nikola Müller-Langguth
Drawing from the design phase

The building protrudes from the slope like a further rampart and literally invites visitors to explore and clamber the broad and slightly tapered stairway embedded in the southern facade that leads up to the roof.

 

 

Photo Jan Bitter

The remnants of a stairway and a wellhead are a reminder of the so-called Henschel Haus, which was destroyed by an air raid in 1945 and now functions as the position for the museum.

Photo City of Kassel

The so-called Henschel House, which was destroyed in a bombing raid in 1945.

The ups and downs of paths through the terraced park, the stairways and alternating levels are continued inside – in a sense, it is a building designed to persist with its environment and not only in it.

The foyer is high and reaches the full depth of the building ending in floor-level windows that open up to the panorama.

Photo Andreas Horsky
Photo Andreas Horsky

The introductory room spans four levels. This is where visitors start to understand the impact the terraced structure has on the interior’s arrangement: there are no conventionally stacked levels, but staggered semi-storeys designed according to the split-level principle.

Tristan Kobler and Simone Haar from Holzer Kobler Architekturen, Oliver Venghaus from kadawittfeldarchitektur and Susanne Völker, then manager of Grimmwelt at a joint workshop.

Video published on 14. July 2017 by GRIMMWELT Kassel

Projekte

Grimmwelt Kassel

Once Upon a Time -
Wie baut man, wenn man den Park am liebsten unangetastet ließe?

Typologie Ausstellungsgebäude Bauvolumen BGF 6.000 m² (incl. Dachfläche), BRI 24.400 m³ Bauherr Stadt Kassel Kooperation Holzer Kobler Architekturen (Ausstellungsgestaltung) und Hürlimann Lepp (Ausstellungskonzeption) Realisierung 2013–2015 Wettbewerb 2011 – 2. Preis; nachgeschaltetes VOF-Verfahren 2012 – 1. Preis Auszeichnungen German architects – Bau des Jahres 2015, Polis Award 2016, Nike BDA 2016 – Nominierung, Deutscher Städtebaupreis 2016 – Belobigung, DAM Preis 2017 – Finalist, BDA Hessen Simon-Louis-du-Ry-Plakette 2018

PDF-Download

#Ausstellungsgebäude für die Präsentation des Werkes der Brüder Grimm

Der Entwurf übersetzt die historischen und topografischen Gegebenheiten des umgebenen Parks in ein offenes Raumgefüge, das den Besucher zum Durchwandern der Ausstellung einlädt.

Foto Jan Bitter

Die GRIMMWELT liegt an der südlichen Kante des Weinbergs inmitten einer denkmalgeschützten, reizvollen Parklandschaft. Terrassen, alte steinerne Treppenanlagen und Mauerfragmente prägen die besondere Atmosphäre des Ortes. Das neue Ausstellungshaus führt die Topographie des Geländes als begehbare Skulptur fort und bereichert den Park mit einer öffentlich zugänglichen Treppenanlage, die ihren Abschluss in einer Dachterrasse mit Ausblick in die Umgebung findet.
Im Inneren des skulpturalen Baukörpers setzen Split-Level-Ebenen den Duktus der terrassierten Landschaft fort. Mittelpunkt der Grimmwelt ist der zentrale Auftaktraum, von dem aus sich die einzelnen Ebenen mit ihren unterschiedlichen Themenschwerpunkten erwandern und erforschen lassen. Der Besucher erfährt einen Ort der Zwischentöne schafft und sich der Komplexität der deutschen Sprachwissenschaft und der bedeutenden grimmschen Märchensammlung widmet. Das Foyer mit Kasse, Museumsshop und Wartebereichen durchzieht das Gebäude als langgestreckter Raum und endet in einem lichtdurchfluteten Café mit Panoramablick auf die Kassler Karlsaue und Südstadt.

Foto Andreas Horsky
24. Juli 2017
Namasté auf dem Dach der Grimmwelt

Soviel zum Thema ‘Lebenswerten Freiraum’  😉
https://www.lokalo24.de/lokales/kassel/dynamik-museumsdach.html

posted by
Nikola Müller-Langguth
Skizze aus dem Wettbewerb

Das Ausstellungshaus wächst wie eine weitere Befestigungsmauer aus dem Hang hervor und fordert den Besucher regelrecht dazu auf, es zu erwandern und zu erklimmen.

Foto Jan Bitter

Relikte einer Treppenanlage und einer Brunneneinfassung erinnern an das sogenannte Henschel-Haus, das 1945 bei einem Bombenangriff zerstört wurde und dessen Platz das Ausstellungshaus nun einnimmt.

Foto Stadt Kassel

Das sogenannte Henschel-Haus, das 1945 bei einem Bombenangriff zerstört wurde.

Die Weginszenierung des Auf und Ab durch den gestaffelten Park, über die Treppe, weiter über die Terrasse und wieder hinunter setzt sich im Gebäude fort – ganz im Sinne eines Hauses, das mit und nicht nur in seiner Umgebung bestehen will.

Das Foyer durchmisst die gesamte Tiefe des Gebäudes und ermöglicht den Ausblick auf die Stadt.

Foto Andreas Horsky
Foto Andreas Horsky

Der „Auftaktraum“ reicht über vier Ebenen. Hier erkennt der Besucher die Auswirkungen des terrassierten Baukörpers auf die innere Organisation: Es gibt keine konventionell übereinander gestapelten Stockwerke, sondern versetzte Halbetagen nach dem Split-Level-Prinzip.

Tristan Kobler und Simone Haar von Holzer Kobler Architekturen, Oliver Venghaus von kadawittfeldarchitektur und Susanne Völker, damals Geschäftsführerin der Grimmwelt bei einem gemeinsamen Workshop.

Video GRIMMWELT Kassel veröffentlicht am 14.07.2017