Projects

MINTO

Dress for Success -
Can a mall enrich the city?

Typology façade, retail Construction volume façade 8.000 m² Client mfi Management für Immobilien AG Realization 2012-2014 Competition 1st prize 2011 Certificate DGNB Platin Awards BDA Linker Niederrhein Auszeichnung guter Bauten 2017

PDF-Download

# Façade design for an inner city shopping centre in Mönchengladbach

The horizontally layered structure of the façade reacts to the spatial and topographical features of the surroundings and provides specific spatial responses.

On the site where the theatre previously stood, the new commercial and service centre defines the “new centre” of the city. Its large volume consists of stacked floor levels which meander independently of each other and are wrapped by an undulating façade whose three dimensional form reflects the differentiations in the urban space that surrounds. In gentle curves, bands of vertical blades draw pedestrians to the entrances, create terraces and roofed outdoor spaces and thus address the function of the façade as the interface between building and urban space. The steep topography of the surrounding terrain is integrated into the internal organisation of the shopping centre by allowing three of the four storeys to be accessible from ground level. Inside, the scenographic design creates an individual identity inspired by the cityscape. By means of accentuated ‘highlight façades’ spanning over two levels, individual shops are made legible as separate volumes facing the mall. A variety of voids between levels, squares, seating areas and themed design elements condense to form an urban spatial nexus.

Photo Andreas Horsky
Photo Andreas Horsky
Photo Andreas Horsky
Photo Andreas Horsky

The colour play of the ceramic façade was derived from the typical Lower Rhine field fire clinker tones and achieved by mixing the clays used.

Photo Andreas Horsky

A horizontal joint is created above the façade strips, showing the logos of the shops represented as advertising strips. The advertising thus becomes an unobtrusive, integral part of the façade without appearing to be superimposed.

May 16th, 2014
Minto sample facade!
posted by
Michael Tremmel

Construction video, published by Merinetjeru on 24.03.2015

Hexacopter flight from HexaCopter-Video.de
Published by Hans-Peter Schmidt on 17.10.2015

The shopping world was realized by kplus konzept Düsseldorf.

Projekte

MINTO

Dress for Success -
Kann eine Mall die City bereichern?

Typologie Fassade, Retail Bauvolumen Fassadenfläche ca. 8.000 m² Bauherr Unibail-Rodamco Germany GmbH Realisierung 2012-2015 Wettbewerb 2011 – 1.Preis Zertifizierung DGNB Platin Auszeichnung BDA Linker Niederrhein Auszeichnung guter Bauten 2017

PDF-Download

#Fassadengestaltung für ein Shopping Center in der Mönchengladbacher Innenstadt
Die horizontal geschichtete Fassadengliederung reagiert auf die räumlichen und topografischen Gegebenheiten der Umgebung und bietet spezifische räumliche Antworten.

Das neue Handels- und Dienstleistungszentrum auf dem Areal des ehemaligen Schauspielhauses definiert die „neue Mitte“ der Stadt. Das großvolumige Gebäude wird in geschossweise gestaffelte, mäandrierende Fassadenbänder gekleidet, deren dreidimensionale Ausformung differenziert auf die unmittelbare stadträumliche Umgebung reagiert. In weichen Schwüngen lenken die vertikalen Lamellenbänder die Aufmerksamkeit der Passanten auf die Eingänge des Hauses, lassen Terrassen und überdachte Freiräume entstehen und thematisieren so die Funktion der Fassade als Schnittstelle zwischen Gebäude und Stadtraum. Die stark ansteigende Topographie des umgebenden Geländes wird zur inneren Organisation des Shoppingcenters genutzt und ermöglicht die ebenerdige Erschließung von drei der insgesamt vier Geschosse. Die Eingänge öffnen sich großzügig zum Stadtraum und laden zur Erkundung des urbanen Raumgefüges im Inneren ein. Grundelement der Fassadenbänder sind vertikale Keramik-Lamellen in elf unterschiedlichen Farbtönen, die in einer niederrheinischen Manufaktur produziert werden. In Anlehnung an den regional typischen Feldbrandklinker ergänzen sie mit ihrem dezenten Farbspiel die Koloratur der Stadt.

Foto Andreas Horsky
Foto Andreas Horsky
Foto Andreas Horsky
Foto Andreas Horsky

Das Farbspiel der Keramikfassade wurde aus den am Niederrhein typischen Feldbrandklinkertönen abgeleitet und durch die Mischung der verwendeten Tone erzielt.

Foto Andreas Horsky

Die einzelnen Fassadenbänder schließen an ihrer Oberseite mit einer zurückspringenden horizontalen Fuge ab, die als Werbebänder die Logos der im Minto vertretenen Shops zeigen. So wird die Werbung zum zurückhaltenden, integralen Bestandteil der Fassade, ohne aufgesetzt zu wirken.

16. Mai 2014
Musterfassade übrigenZ!
posted by
Michael Tremmel

Baustellenvideo des Minto, veröffentlicht von Merinetjeru am 24.03.2015

Hexacopterflug von HexaCopter-Video.de
Veröffentlicht von Hans-Peter Schmidt am 17.10.2015

Die Erlebniswelt der Shoppingmall wurde von kplus konzept Düsseldorf realisiert.