Projects

adidas Laces

Sneaker-Proof Environment -
Perfectly laced, more air to breathe!

Typologie office Construction Volume GFA 62.000m² GV 356.000m³ Client adidas AG World of Sports Construction 2008-2011 Competition 1st Prize 2007 Awards Office Application Award 2009 – Best Innovative Concept, TDC 58 2012 – Orientierungssystem certificate of typographic excellence, AIT Award 2012 – selection, Prime Property Award 2012 – shortlist, DETAIL Preis 2012, pbb Architekturpreis 2012, 15 spektakulärste Firmensitze der Welt, ICONIC AWARDS 2013 – Best of Best, Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2013-Nachhaltiges Bauen – shortlist, Preis des Deutschen Stahlbaues 2014

PDF-Download

#Research and development building with 1700 working places at the adidas World of Sports campus in Herzogenaurach

In contrast to conventional office typologies, the ring structure lends to the building a double relationship to the landscape – both to the outer surroundings and to the communicative landscape of the atrium. The connecting walkways, “Laces”, efficiently open up access to all office areas without the need to cross through other departments. At the same time they transform the atrium into a creative center of the building that provides an identity.

adidas Campus ‘World of Sports’

1 Spikes
2 Adi Dassler Sportplatz
3 Laces
4 Adi Dassler Brand Center
5 Stripes
6 Allround

Photo Werner Huthmacher

The new Laces blends into the existing World of Sports ensemble as a floating counterpart to the black, recumbent mass of the adidas Brand Center. Its clearly contoured volume positively invites the surrounding campus to find a continuation within its interior, an atrium with a controlled climate. Lined up in a circular arrangement, the office areas with their large glazed surfaces open onto the atmospheric inner space and the remarkable landscaped space.

Interview with Gerhard Wittfeld und Kilian Kada from the series of „ARCHlab“ – a cooperation of BauNetz.de, Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM, Goethe Institut and Prounen Film

The connecting walkways that cross the atrium, the Laces, “tie” the built volume together, as it were, to form a many-layered office building that is rich in relationships. They enable a maximum of interaction and allow open areas of communication to emerge. As delicate connecting bridges, they weave a poetic spatial structure into the interior and thus make the special creative atmosphere of the building legible. The result is an inspiring place for research and product development.

Pictogram
Photo Werner Huthmacher
Photo Werner Huthmacher
Photo Gianni Plescia
Photo Gianni Plescia

 

“Personally, I prefer to look into the atrium…-you can see what’s going on at the market square right now: Who just hung something in the window pane again? What are the new products like? What’s happening? Who is meeting whom?”
Marcel Gerlitz | Senior Mangager Office Management

Film adidas Group | http://herzo.adidas-group.com

A company like adidas is not only in local competition with its direct neighbour Puma. In the ‘War for Talents’ for the best designers and developers, adidas has to compete with the leading companies worldwide and offer attractive working conditions for employees from 75 countries at its headquarters in Herzogenaurach.

Zones at Laces

1 Roof Structure
2 Office Module
3 Service Module
4 Atrium
5 Innovation Module and Test Hall
6 Technical Areas, Store Room and other auxiliary Rooms

Floorplan

„If four and a half thousand people from forty nations are to live and work at this location, we need an urban strategy. So the basic idea behind the design for Laces was the atrium space as a vertical, three-dimensional city.“
Gerhard Wittfeld

Film Crane.tv

Designers Day at Herzogenaurach
Twice a year designers from every creation center gather at the wold of sport campus in Herzogenaurach, Germany.

Photo Werner Huthmacher

Office Module
Laces was conceived as a flexible office building. Changes in the composition and size of teams or of the entire occupying units are every bit as normal in a globally active company like adidas as the temporary integration of employees from other locations worldwide or groups of external persons. This means that the use of space within the Office Module can be adapted to organisational changes more easily than hitherto.

Photo Gianni Plaescia

Innovation Valley constitutes a lower-lying green courtyard within the atrium and is reached via a wide flight of steps from the ground floor. Innovation Valley is surrounded at basement level by production and development departments in which research is carried out and new products are developed and made as test products.

Photo Werner Huthmacher

Athlete Services
Athlete Services is an out-of-the-ordinary place: individual care for athletes under contract, teams and VIPs takes place right here. Individually adapted products are made and presented on the spot for outstanding athletes who enjoy individual attention from adidas.

Projekte

adidas Laces

Sneaker-Proof Environment -
Gut geschnürt mehr Luft zum Atmen!

Typologie Büro Bauvolumen BGF 62.000 m², BRI 356.000 m³ Bauherr adidas AG World of Sports Realisierung 2008–2011 Wettbewerb 2007 – 1. Preis Auszeichnungen Office Application Award 2009 – Best Innovative Concept, TDC 58 2012 – Orientierungssystem certificate of typographic excellence, AIT Award 2012 – Selection, Prime Property Award 2012 – Shortlist, DETAIL Preis 2012, pbb Architekturpreis 2012 – Auszeichnung, 15 spektakulärste Firmensitze der Welt, ICONIC AWARDS 2013 – Best of Best, Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2013 -Nachhaltiges Bauen – Shortlist, Preis des Deutschen Stahlbaues 2014 – Auszeichnung

PDF-Download

#Forschung- und Entwicklungsgebäude mit 1700 Arbeitsplätzen auf dem adidas-Campus „World of Sports“ in Herzogenaurach

Im Unterschied zu konventionellen Bürotypologien ermöglicht die von kadawittfeldarchitektur entwickelte Ringstruktur des Gebäudes einen zweifachen Landschaftsbezug – sowohl zur äußeren Umgebung als auch zur kommunikativen Landschaft des Atriums. Die Laces als Verbindungsstege erlauben eine effiziente Erschließung aller Bürobereiche ohne Queren fremder Abteilungen. Gleichzeitig verwandeln sie das Atrium in das identitätsstiftende, kreative Zentrum des Gebäudes.

adidas Campus ‘World of Sports’

1 Spikes
2 Adi Dassler Sportplatz
3 Laces
4 Adi Dassler Brand Center
5 Stripes
6 Allround

Foto Werner Huthmacher

Das neue Laces fügt sich als schwebendes Pendant zu dem schwarzen, liegenden Baukörper des adidas Brand Centers in das bestehende Ensemble der „World of Sports“ ein. Das klar konturierte Volumen lädt den umliegenden Campus förmlich ein, sich im Innern als temperiertes Atrium fortzusetzen. Ringschlüssig aufgereiht öffnen sich die Büroflächen mit großzügigen Verglasungen zum atmosphärischen Innenraum und zu dem bemerkenswerten Landschaftsraum.

Interview mit Gerhard Wittfeld und Kilian Kada über das aidas Laces in Herzogenaurach. Aus der Portraitreihe „ARCHlab“ – einer Kooperation zwischen BauNetz.de, dem Deutschen Architekturmuseum DAM, dem Goethe Institut und Prounen Film

Die das Atrium überspannenden Verbindungsstege, die Laces, „schnüren“ den Baukörper gleichsam zu einem vielschichtig beziehungsreichen Bürogebäude zusammen. Sie ermöglichen ein Höchstmaß an Interaktion und lassen offene Kommunikationsbereiche entstehen. Als filigrane Verbindungsbrücken verweben sie den Innenraum zu einem poetischen Raumgefüge und machen damit die besondere kreative Atmosphäre des Hauses ablesbar. Es entsteht ein inspirierender Ort für die Forschung und Produktentwicklung.

Piktogramm
Foto Werner Huthmacher
Foto Werner Huthmacher
Foto Gianni Plescia
Foto Gianni Plescia

 

„Mir persönlich ist der Blick ins Atrium lieber…-dass man sieht was am Marktplatz gerade los ist: Wer hat gerade wieder was in die Fensterscheibe gehängt? Wie sind die neuen Produkte? Was passiert denn da? Wer trifft sich mit wem? Wer kommt gerade rein? Sind gerade Sportler da? Das ist eine ganz eingene Stimmung.“
Marcel Gerlitz | Senior Mangager Office Management

Film adidas Group | http://herzo.adidas-group.com

Ein Unternehmen wie adidas steht nicht nur in lokaler Konkurrenz zum direkten Nachbarn Puma. Im ‚War for Talents‘ um die besten Designer und Entwickler muss sich adidas mit den führenden Unternehmen weltweit messen lassen und für Mitarbeiter aus derzeit 75 Ländern attraktive Arbeitsbedingungen am Hauptsitz in Herzogenaurach bieten.

Bereiche im Laces

1 Dachkonstruktion
2 Office Module
3 Service Module
4 zentrales Atrium
5 Innovation Module mit Testhalle
6 Technikzentrale, Lagerräume und Nebenräume

Grundriss

„Wenn Viereinhalbtausend Leute aus vierzig Nationen an diesem Standort leben und arbeiten sollen, brauchen wir einen urbanen Verdichter. Grundgedanke der Entwurfsidee für das Laces war also der Atriumraum als vertikale, dreidimensionale Stadt“
Gerhard Wittfeld

Film Crane.tv

Designers Day in Herzogenaurach
Twice a year designers from every creation center gather at the wold of sport campus in Herzogenaurach, Germany.

Werner Huthmacher

Office Module
Das Laces ist als flexibles Bürogebäude konzipiert. Veränderungen in der Zusammensetzung und Größe der Teams bzw. ganzer Belegungseinheiten sind in einem global agierenden Konzern wie adidas ebenso an der Tagesordnung wie die temporäre Integration von Arbeitskräften aus den weltweiten Standorten oder externer Personengruppen.

Foto Gianni Plaescia

Das Innovation Valley bildet innerhalb des Atriums einen tiefer gelegenen begrünten Hof, der über eine breite Treppe vom Erdgeschoss erreicht wird. Rund um das ‚Innovation Valley‘ gliedern sich im Untergeschoss die Produktions- und Entwicklungs-Abteilungen an, in denen geforscht wird und neue Produkte entwickelt und als Testprodukte hergestellt werden.

Foto Werner Huthmacher

Athlete Services
Hier findet vor Ort eine individuelle Betreuung von Vertragsathleten, Mannschaften und VIPs statt. Für herausragende und von adidas individuell betreute Athleten werden hier individuell angepasste Produkte angefertigt und präsentiert.