Projects

PANDION The Shelf

Typology Offices  Construction volume GFA 24,000 m² (above and below ground), LFA approx. 18,000 m², 80 car parking spaces in single-storey underground car park, 8 charging points for e-cars, 190 bicycle parking spaces in underground parking area Client PANDION Real Estate GmbH Architect kadawittfeldarchitektur  Competitive design process 2017 – 1st prize  Completion 2021 Sustainability DGNB Gold Standard

PDF-Download

Photo: HGEsch
Photo: HGEsch

#PANDION The Shelf

Brief Development of a new building in a well-established commercial district in Berlin Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. Added Value In the heart of the Kreuzberg neighbourhood, the landscaped inner courtyard creates a lively place that opens up to the street space with its funnel-shaped, two-storey opening.

 

PANDION The Shelf – commercial yards Prinzenstraße, Berlin | Germany Positioned in the centre of Berlin Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, the new five to six-storey building is designed to close the perimeter development at the corner of the streets Prinzenstraße and  Ritterstraße. The scheme incorporates a large two-storey funnel-shaped entrance on Prinzenstraße, which allows the hustle and bustle from the urban environment to flow into the courtyard. The landscaped space, reminiscent of Berlin’s historic backyards, functions as a communal outdoor reception area for all building occupants. Fully glazed access cores with adjoining foyers are located in all four corners of the courtyard, providing access to all levels with a range of flexible workspaces. In addition to the offices, the ground floor offers a variety of space to meet the mixed-use concept of the development, including zones for retail and catering facilities. A slightly smaller planted courtyard, that complements the property to the rear, is conceived primarily as a place to retreat and work. The facade with the gold hue and grid-like composition blends in well with the surroundings, enhances the streetscape and courtyard with its full stock of life, and provides a name for the project.

 

 

Photo: HGEsch

a “shelf in the city“

The facade, which is referred to as a “shelf in the city”, adopts features from the neighbourhood in its arrangement, interprets them in a contemporary way and provides the building with its name “THE SHELF”. Inspired by the strict facade structures of old industrial complexes, the multifaceted composition is reminiscent of a type case, in which each user has a separate compartment. The light reflected from the warm gold tone of the exterior elements fitted with sun-shading devices enables the building to blend in with its surroundings. Light is drawn into the depths of the interior space through individual loggias, enhancing the connection between inside and outside. The filigree character and materiality of the facade is fundamental to the identity of the new build that appears as an architectural landmark in the urban fabric. Designed for long-term flexibility, the “urban shelf” reflects the possible mix of different uses on the outside of the building.

The funnel-shaped opening on Prinzenstraße is like a friendly invitation that allows the urban environment to naturally flow into the interior courtyard. The two-storey passageway not only creates additional storefronts at ground floor level but also a covered entrance into the complex.

Photo: HGEsch

Located on Prinzenstraße in the centre of Berlin Friedrichshain – Kreuzberg, the new complex THE SHELF is just a stone’s throw away from the underground station Moritzplatz in a well-established commercial district. The neighbourhood is renowned for its social mix of population, creative lifestyles, as well as its varied culture and nightlife. The five to six-storey building is at a prominent place in the urban environment at the corner of the streets Prinzenstraße and Ritterstraße. The neighbouring buildings are a mixed bag with, among others, the former factory Butzke Werke and the striking Modulor House situated directly on the square Moritzplatz.

the courtyard as a lobby

This special access solution reflects the particularity of Berlin’s backyards and continues the long history of industrial estates. The connected courtyard complexes, which were typically developed in Berlin to cater for the massive increase in population, became a focus of everyday life in the 19th century. The idea was to introduce this charming backyard character in the new build. With its function as a main lobby, the landscaped courtyard is transformed into a welcoming place to meet and relax with decks, terraces, plants, outdoor furniture and lighting. The chandelier planned by the light designers jack be nimble gives the space a unique atmosphere. Fitted with 40 lamps and measuring eight metres in diameter, the chandelier spans the entire width of the courtyard.

urban space flows into the inner courtyard

the courtyard as a distributor to all units

Photo: HGEsch
Photo: HGEsch
Photo: HGEsch
Photo: HGEsch

All office levels can be reached from the interior courtyard via the access cores positioned in each of the four corners. The staircases are adjoined by spacious reception areas, which stand out from the facade and thus clearly highlight the individuality of the locations.

entrance situation of a backyard typical for Berlin

 

maximum flexibility

Traditional office layouts have become outdated. Designed to encourage communication and efficient work processes, the modular layout is conducive to flexible workplace solutions, which can easily be adapted to meet the requirements of all future building occupants. With little effort, the central zones of the combined office spaces can be extended to the full width around the cores or, according to needs, all floors can be converted into traditional offices or separated combined office spaces with wider central zones.

Photo: Schnepp Renou

 

 

 

In addition to the landscaped courtyard, THE SHELF offers a range of outdoor areas for well-deserved breaks out in the fresh air: 18 loggias, a large balcony, a roof terrace and a communal space for urban gardening. Designed as a refuge for birds and insects, the occupants are able to use the garden to plant their own vegetables. The roof terrace is also designed for informal meetings: as a communal space, it can be used by different tenants to meet and communicate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo: Schnepp Renou
Photo: HGEsch
Photo: HGEsch

 

 

 

 

 

Photo: kadawittfeldarchitektur
Photo: HGEsch

WORK IN PROGRESS

Projekte

PANDION The Shelf

Typologie Büro Bauvolumen BGF 24.000 m² (unterirdisch und oberirdisch) Vermietbare Fläche ca. 18.000 m², 80 PKW-Stellplätze in der eingeschossigen Tiefgarage, 8 mgl. Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge, 190 Fahrradstellplätze in der Tiefgarage Bauherr/in PANDION Real Estate GmbH Architektur kadawittfeldarchitektur  konkurrierendes Planungsverfahren 2017 – 1. Preis  Realisierung 2021 Nachhaltigkeit DGNB Gold

PDF-Download

Foto: HGEsch
Foto: HGEsch

#PANDION The Shelf

Brief Neubau eines Gebäudeensembles im historisch gewachsenen Gewerbegebiet in Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg.

Added Value Mitten im Kreuzberger Kiez entsteht mit dem begrünten Innenhof ein lebendiger Ort, der sich durch seine trichterförmige, zweigeschossige Erschließung zum Straßenraum hin öffnet.

PANDION The Shelf – GewerbeHöfe Prinzenstraße, Berlin | Germany Mitten in Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg ist ein fünf-bis sechsgeschossiges Gebäudeensemble entstanden, das den Blockrand an der Ecke Prinzenstraße/Ritterstraße schließt. Der Entwurf sieht eine großzügige zweigeschossige und trichterförmige Öffnung zur Prinzenstraße vor, durch die der lebendige Stadtraum bis in den Innenhof des Grundstücks fließt. Der begrünte Innenhof, eine Reminiszenz an die historischen Berliner Höfe, dient als gemeinsame Lobby für alle Nutzer*innen des Bürogebäudes. In den vier Hofecken sind verglaste Kerne mit großzügigen Empfangszonen angeordnet, die auf allen Ebenen die flexiblen, für alle Bürotypologien geeigneten Mietflächen erschließen. Ein etwas ruhigerer begrünter Außenhof ergänzt das Ensemble und soll primär als Rückzugs- und Arbeitsort dienen. Die Fassade nimmt mit ihrer Tonalität und Gliederung Bezug auf die Umgebung, bereichert als mit Leben gefülltes „Stadt-Regal“ Straßenraum und Innenhof und gibt dem Projekt seinen Namen.

 

Foto: HGEsch

Die Fassade als „Stadt-Regal“

Durch ihre Gliederung nimmt die Fassade Bezüge aus der Nachbarschaft auf, interpretiert sie zeitgemäß und gibt dem Projekt seinen Namen. Angelehnt an die stringente Struktur der Fassaden alter Gewerbehöfe, wirkt die abwechslungsreiche Gliederung wie ein Setzkasten, in dem jede/r Nutzer/in ihren/ seinen eigenen Platz hat. Der warme Goldton der vorgelagerten Fassadenelemente mit außenliegendem Sonnenschutz harmoniert durch seine Lichtreflexionen mit der angrenzenden Umgebung. Über einzelne Loggien fällt das Licht bis tief in den Innenraum hinein und fördert den Dialog zwischen Innen und Außen. Durch die Filigranität und Materialität der Fassaden erhält der Neubau eine ablesbare Identität und behauptet sich so architektonisch in seiner Umgebung. Langfristig offen für verschiedene Nutzungsszenarien, spiegelt das „Stadt-Regal“- die mögliche Nutzungsmischung nach außen hin wider. Das Gebäude öffnet sich mit einer freundlichen Geste zur Prinzenstraße hin und der Stadtraum fließt wie selbstverständlich in den Innenhof. Der großzügige zweigeschossige Gebäudezugang schafft zusätzliche Fassadenfläche im Erdgeschoss und einen überdachten Zugang.

Foto: HGEsch

In zentraler Lage im Berlin Friedrichshain – Kreuzberg gelegen, ein Katzensprung vom U-Bahnhof Moritzplatz entfernt, ist das Gebäudeensemble PANDION The Shelf in der Prinzenstraße Teil eines historisch gewachsenen Gewerbegebiets. Bekannt ist der Kiez für seine sozial gemischte Bevölkerung, kreative Lebensentwürfe sowie sein vielseitiges Nacht- und Kulturleben. Auf dem Eck-Grundstück Prinzenstraße/Ritterstraße nimmt das fünf- bis sechsgeschossige Ensemble stadträumlich eine prominente Stellung ein. Die Nachbarbebauung ist sehr heterogen geprägt. So befinden sich in der Nachbarschaft Bauten wie die Butzke-Werke und das prägende Modulor-Haus direkt am Moritzplatz.

Der Hof als Lobby

Diese besondere Erschließung trägt dem Berliner Hinterhof Rechnung und führt die langjährige Tradition des historischen Gewerbeareals fort. Die für Berlin typischen zusammenhängenden Hofkomplexe entwickelten sich im Zuge der städtischen Verdichtung zum Ort des alltäglichen Austausches des 19. Jahrhunderts. Dieser Hinterhofcharme soll auf den Neubau übertragen werden. Mit seiner Aufgabe als übergeordnete Lobby erhält der Innenhof durch seine Terrassendecks, die als Sitzmöbel oder Pflanzbecken dienen. zusätzliche Aufenthaltsqualität. Eine besondere Atmosphäre verleiht ihm der von Lichtplaner*innen jack be nimble angefertigte Kronleuchter. Mit 40 Leuchtköpfen ausgestattet und einem Gesamtdurchmesser von acht Metern, überspannt er den gesamten Innenhof.

Der Stadtraum fließt wie durch einen Trichter in den Innenhof

Der Hof als Verteiler Erschließung aller Einheiten über den Innenhof

Foto: HGEsch
Foto: HGEsch
Foto: HGEsch
Foto: HGEsch

Alle Büroebenen können vom Innenhof aus über die vier Hofecken, in denen die Erschließungskerne angeordnet sind, erschlossen werden. Die daran anknüpfenden großzügigen Empfangszonen sind plastisch abgesetzt und dienen einer eindeutigen Adressbildung.

Eingangssituation eines für Berlin typischen Hinterhofs

 

Maximale Flexibilität

Unzeitgemäße Bürolandschaften haben ausgedient. Dem persönlichen Austausch und effizienten Arbeiten zuträglich ermöglicht das modulare Grundrissraster flexible Bürotypologien, welche sich leicht an die Bedürfnisse künftiger Nutzer*innen anpassen lassen. Ohne große Umbaumaßnahmen lassen sich die Mittelzonen der Kombi-Büroeinheiten in voller Breite um die Kerne führen oder je nach Bedarf alle Geschosse mit klassischen Zellen oder individuellen Kombi-Büros mit breiteren Mittelzonen bestücken.

Foto: Schnepp Renou

 

 

 

Für die wohlverdiente Pause an der frischen Luft bietet The Shelf neben dem Innenhof eine Vielzahl von Außenbereichen: 18 Loggien, eine große Balkonterrasse, eine Dachterrasse sowie ein Gemeinschaftsgarten, der für innerstädtisches Gärtnern genutzt werden kann. Als Refugium für Vögel und Insekten geplant, können Nutzer*innen ihr eigenes Gemüse anbauen. Die Dachterrasse steht ebenfalls im Zeichen des informellen Treffens: als gemeinschaftliche Fläche genutzt, können hier Möglichkeiten für Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Mieter*innen stattfinden.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Foto: Schnepp Renou
Foto: HGEsch
Foto: HGEsch

 

 

 

 

 

Foto: kadawittfeldarchitektur
Foto: HGEsch

WORK IN PROGRESS